Friday, February 5, 2016

Zumbrink Elected Delegate to National Convention, U. S. Senator Sherrod Brown Speaks to State Delegates

Jim Zumbrink, Delegate to the National Farmers
Union Convention
Columbus, Ohio - During the 82nd Annual Ohio Farmers Union Convention held recently in Columbus, Ohio, local agricultural leader, Jim Zumbrink, was elected to represent Darke County at the Farmers Union National Convention to be held in Bloomington, Minnesota, on March 5-8, 2016. During the two-day event, delegates worked to update their policies on matters such as: farm corporations, land trusts, ag cooperatives, manure management, tax policy, farmland preservation, oil and gas wells, carbon sequestration, nutrient management, transportation, renewable and alternative energy, utilities, quality of life, health care, international trade and commodities agreements, check-off programs, education, etc. These policy stances can now be used when lobbying the state legislature and serve as a basis for Ohio Farmers Union’s perspective on formatting policy at the national level.

Local delegate participants from Darke County included Todd and Amy Rhoades, Jim Zumbrink, Duane Shields, Shirley Morrow, Ted and Holly Finnarn, Donna Evans and Youth Delegate, Aidan Evans. The delegates were enlightened by a visit from U. S. Senator Sherrod Brown on Friday where he spoke to the concerns on trade agreements and issues in current farm legislation. State Rep. Brian Hill, Chairman of the Ohio House Agriculture Committee, spoke on Saturday concerning regulations on manure and nutrient management and farm CAUV taxes. “Brian Hill has been especially good for Ohio’s family farmers in fixing the problems with CAUV,” OFU President, Joe Logan said. “Even before Rep. Hill was a chairman he stood with OFU members in seeking fair and measured reforms in farmland real estate taxes.” Logan said he credits Hill for the currently pending H. B. 398 which would make improvements to the Current Agricultural Use Valuation formula and take some of the wild fluctuations out of the tax rates farmers are paying on their farmland in production. “It should also be noted that Rep. Hill is one of the very few members of legislature who is a working farmer. He gets us, he understands our issues,” Logan said.
U. S. Senator Sherrod Brown with
Youth Delegate, Aidan Evans

U. S. Rep Marcy Kaptur also spoke via electronic conveyance at Saturday’s lunch. Kaptur has served in Congress since 1982 and is a perennial winner of the National Farmers Union Golden Triangle Award. The Golden Triangle is awarded based on a Congress member’s advocacy for family farm issues and alignment with NFU priorities. “Marcy Kaptur has been tireless in her advocacy for common sense consumer labeling-particularly mandatory country of origin labels for beef, pork and poultry,” said OFU President Joe Logan. “Marcy has also been strongly in favor of fair trade deals and stood with the Farmers Union against currency manipulation and so-called fast-track trade authority.” OFU named State Rep. Brian Hill and U. S. Rep. Marcy Kaptur the Legislators of the Year.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */