Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Edison Board of Trustee Members Honored by OACC

Trustee Darryl Mehaffie of Edison (at left), winner of the Maureen C. Grady Award for Special Achievement. Trustees Jim Thompson (second from left) and Ed Curry (second from right), winners of the Richard Adams Educational Leadership Award. Also pictured Edison Foundation Board member Bettye Laughlin.
Edison Community College is proud to announce that three members from the college’s Board of Trustees were honored during the recent Ohio Association of Community Colleges Excellence Awards.

James Thompson, trustee and vice chair of the college’s Board of Trustees, and Ed Curry, trustee and past chair of the board were winners of the Richard N. Adams Educational Leadership Award. This award is named after Dr. Richard N. Adams, a past OACC chair and current elected state representative who served on the Edison Community College Board of Trustees for 18 years.

Trustee Darryl D. Mehaffie was honored as the winner of the Maureen C. Grady Award for Special Achievement. The award is named for Grady, a former trustee with the Clark State Community College Board of Trustees, and recognizes extraordinary leadership and contributions of trustees. Mehaffie has been actively engaged in the affairs of the college and he discovered a solution to the challenges colleges face with post-secondary enrollment option funding. Mehaffie was also part of the presidential search committee that secured current Edison President Dr. Cris Valdez.

“The honors that the OACC has presented to our board members is indicative of the level of commitment that they have to champion the college,” said Dr. Cris Valdez, president of the college. “Edison is very fortunate to have a board that thoroughly supports the college and the communities it serves.”

The awards were presented at the annual Excellence Awards Gala in Columbus this past May.

“These trustees and distinguished award winners exemplify the best in leadership for Ohio’s community colleges,” said Ron Abrams, president of the OACC in a press release. “They come from all walks of life and from all areas of the state and they honor Ohio’s community colleges by their leadership and participation.”

The Ohio Association of Community Colleges is an association of Ohio’s 23 public community colleges. The Association was founded in 1993 as a single forum for advocacy, communication, recognition, trustee education and trustee-president cooperation. The OACC is the recognized voice of the community college movement in Ohio.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */