Monday, April 28, 2014

Mississinawa Valley-MVCTC FFA Holds Annual Parent/Member Banquet

Mississinawa Valley FFA's New Officers
The Mississinawa Valley-MVCTC FFA Chapter held its Annual Parent and Member Banquet on March 20, 2014 in the cafeteria. Over 300 people were served. The welcome was given by freshman, Madison Stachler and her father, Scott Stachler. The invocation was led by Kasey Hummel. The banquet was called to order by FFA president, Jake Breymier and the 2013-2014 officer team.

Donor awards were presented to the following for their support this past year: Jim Atchley, Gwen Bergman, Joe Hartzell, Jeffrey Winchester, Kim Livingston, Frank Miller Lumber, Williamsburg Stockyard, Alex Murphy, Rob Breymier, Kyle Linder, Rodney Saintigon, Thienman’s Sports Bar and Grille, Debbie Gower, Applegate Livestock, The Mississinawa Valley Custodial Staff, Nick Hamilton, Sherry Dirksen, Carts and Parts, Lois Livingston, Harry Birt and Birt’s Store, Kevin Bergman, Homestead Quality Bedding, Kim Berger and the Cafeteria Staff, Preston Deeter, and Mississinawa Valley-MVCTC FFA Alumni, Barb Bateman, Jana Brueggeman, Jeff Keller, Kurt Bergman, Barry and Adam Rodeheffer, Bill Stocksdale, Sandy Austerman Skidmore at Didier Hardware, Ted Finnarn, Doris Schweppe, Jeff Slyder, Velma Breymier, Shelby Shimp, Emily Timmerman, Sandy Denniston, Morgan Doppler and Rod Saintignon at Versailles Painting Service, Todd Murphy, Makinzi Marker and Liz Livingston, Sam Custerat Darke County Extension Office, Mary Boettger and Greg Beherns, Jason Manning of County View Family Farms, Vore’s Welding and Steel, Cooper Farm’s, Cy Hiestand, Richard Livingston, Rhonda Phillips and Tami Bruner, Fort Recovery Insurance Agency, Jeff and Lori Cox, Dale Breymier, Darin Hiatt and Rick Scholl, Shawn Peters, Derrick Mote at Mote Farm Service, Union City Pak-a- Sak and Subway, Justin Herth, Duane Scholl, John Kaiser at Darke County Soil and Water, Brad Lentz and the Ansonia FFA, Cal-Maine, and Sean Gerber at Pioneer Seeds for there Donation.

Mrs. Carmen Hartzell, Mississinawa Valley’s FFA Advisor, presented chapter awards to students with outstanding Supervised Agriculture Experience Programs and other achievements.

Tom Schmitz, son of Don and Tina Schmitz and Madison Stachler, daughter of Scott and Melinda Stachler received the Star Greenhand awards.

Chelsea Skidmore was recognized as the Star in Ag Business. Through her SAE, Chelsea has learned the business of dairy farming. Chelsea owns 24 head of dairy cattle that she shows on a local, state and national level. She keeps milk records and assumes the responsibility of accounting for the farm. Chelsea has been recognized on the state and national levels for her outstanding SAE.

Joe Schmitz was recognized as the Star Chapter Farmer. Through his SAE, Joe raised corn, soybeans, wheat, beef cows, market calves, sows and market pigs. Joe is active as State FFA Officer for the Ohio FFA Association. Joe participates in contests like extemporaneous speaking and job interview.

Jake Breymier was the Dekalb Award winner. Jake has participated in many CDE’s throughout his four years in the FFA which including Parliamentary Procedure, General Livestock Judging, and Envirorthon. He has had excellent SAE projects throughout his four years consisting of beef steers and heifers that he raised and showed at The Darke County Fair.

Honorary Membership was awarded to Barry Rodeheffer and Jeff Keller. Barry Rodeheffer has served the chapter very well by heading up the Ag Ball program, employing students, and helping train the tractor trouble shooting team. Jeff Keller has been a donor to the chapter in time and materials. He headed up the Fall Fair chicken cooking crew and donates use of his bounce house for FFA activities. The use of his business, Party Tents N More, saves the chapter money when fundraising for Children’s Hospital at the annual Dance Marathon activity.

The following members were recognized for their role in fundraising for the chapter through the fruit sale:

Raising $200 to $400
Elizabeth Allen, Zach Armstrong, Jenna Austerman, Makayla Connor, Kaine Daniels, Courtney and Kayla Gilbert, Wade Gilbert, Jon and Sean Harrison, Angela Hockey, Victoria Humphries, Lindsey Hunt, Hope Jankowski, Dalton Jenkinson, Heather Johns, Whitney King, Lane Livingston, Levi Livingston, Kaelyn Marker, Trey Mendenhall, Paige Neargarder, Chancey Pipenger, Josh Rehmert, Alexys Reynolds, Tabitha Richards, Dalton Rinderle, Mason Roark, Nicole Scholl, Brad Slyder. Mikayla Stump, David Townsend, Trevor Walker, Megan Wilson.

Raising $400-$600
Cydney Adams, Jacob Breymier, Cayden Cox, Landon Garber, Madison Livingston, Logan and Colyn Nelson, Madison Stachler, Tiffany Westfall

Raising over $600
Shelbey Copeland, Darin Miller, Tom Schmitz, Jennifer Teegarden

Raising Over $900
Heather and Leslie Dirksen, MacKenzie and Zach Dirmeyer, Kasey Hummel, and Chelsea Skidmore.

The top two sales people were MacKenzie and Zach Dirmeyer with $1103.00 and Leslie Dirksen with $2407.00.

Attendance awards were given to students with perfect attendance record at the monthly meetings. Those students that had perfect attendance were: Jacob Breymier, Cydney Adams, Hunter Coning, Cayden Cox, Tucker Didier, Heather and Leslie Dirksen, MacKenzie and Zach Dirmeyer, Kasey Hummel, Victoria Humphries, Kelsie Hunt, Dalton Jenkinson, Andrew Johns, Shaiann Livingston, Levi Livingston, Madison Livingston, Shelby Manning, Kaelyn Marker, Paige Neargarder, Colyn Nelson, Dalton and Devan Rinderle, Mason Roark, Tom Schmitz, Nicole and Stephanie Scholl, Chelsea Skidmore, Brad Slyder, Madison Stachler, Mikayla Stump, and Joesph Teeter.

The new 2014-2015 Chapter Officers were installed into office and they are:

Heather Dirksen, President
Brad Slyder, Vice- President
Levi Livingston, 2nd Vice-President
Kasey Hummel, Secretary
Leslie Dirksen, Treasurer
MacKenzie Dirmeyer, Reporter
Zach Dirmeyer, Sentinel
Hope Jankowski, Student Advisor
Shelby Manning, Historian
Tom Schmitz, Parliamentarian

The following proficiency awards were also handed out at the chapter level:


Beef - Jacob Breymier
Dairy - Chelsea Skidmore
Diversified Crop Production - Brad Slyder
Sheep - Zach Dirmeyer
Poultry - Nicole Scholl
Swine - Joe Schmitz
Grain Production - Joe Schmitz
Oil Crop Production - Joe Schmitz


Environmental Science and Natural Resources - Brad Slyder
Swine Production - Brad Slyder
Specialty Crops - Levi Livingston
Agricultural Sales - Jamie Cox
Agricultural Processing - Mason Roark
Food Service company - Lindsey Hunt
Outdoor Recreation - Hope Jankowski
Improvement Projects - Alexys Reynolds
Agricultural Mechanics Repair - Trey Mendenhall
Forest Management - Dalton Jenkinson
Specialty Animal Production (honey bees) - Brad Slyder
Ag Mechanics Fabrication - Logan Nelson
Forage Production - Levi Livingston

The ushers for the evening were Landon Garber and Megan Wilson

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */