Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Mehaffie Named Chairman of Edison’s Board of Trustees

Darryl Mehaffie
Darryl Mehaffie has been elected to serve as chairman of Edison Community College’s Board of Trustees. Mehaffie’s appointment took place at the January 28 board meeting and will continue for the next two years.

As a member of Edison’s Board of Trustees for over fifteen years, Mehaffie is accustomed to the College and realizes the significance in being named chairman. “I was pleased to learn of my election to chairman and look forward to leading Edison’s Board of Trustees in the upcoming years,” said Mehaffie. “The first order of business is hiring a new president to lead the college. In doing this, we hope to take this outstanding institution to the next level.”

Teaching at Northmont City Schools in Englewood for over 30 years has afforded Mehaffie with considerable expertise in education. Retiring in 1996, Mehaffie continues to serve onnumerous boards and committees advocating for education, agriculture, arts and the region.

Mehaffie has been actively involved with the Ohio Association of Community Colleges since 2002, serving as chairman of the state organization, executive committee, legislative committee, and trustee engagement and leadership committee. He’s also a member of the finance and audit committee and the Ohio coordinator of the central region for the Association of Community College Trustees.

In addition to his involvement with higher education, he is active in politics, representing the counties of Darke, Miami, Montgomery, and Preble as the Ohio Republican State CentralCommitteeman for the Fifth Senate District. He also serves as chairman of the Ohio Republican Budget and Oversight Committee.

Assuming responsibility as vice chairman is Thomas Milligan who has also been involved with Edison’s Board of Trustees for over fifteen years. In addition to his contributions to the board, Milligan is a successful entrepreneur who serves as the founder, president, and owner of Western Ohio Cut Stone in Sidney.

Edison’s Board of Trustees is comprised of three representatives from each county in its primary service area—Darke, Miami, and Shelby. For more information about Edison’s Board of Trustees, visit www.edisonohio.edu.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */