Wednesday, April 29, 2015

2015 Darke County Junior High Honor Band

The annual performance of the Darke County Junior High Band was successfully held this year on February 26 and February 27 at Memorial Hall in Greenville. Selected students from Ansonia, Arcanum, Bradford, Franklin Monroe, Greenville, Mississinawa Valley, and Versailles combined to form the ninety piece concert band. The group was conducted and assisted by each school’s band director.

Students met for the first time on Friday morning where they settled in on stage and began to rehearse the five selections they would perform the next day. After a day of rehearsal, students were dismissed to reconvene the next morning. Saturday morning the band put the final touches on their selections throughout the morning, enjoyed some fellowship and a pizza lunch. After lunch, students made their way back to the stage for a final talk through and tune up. The purpose of this annual event is to provide an opportunity for our junior high players to put the skills learned in the class room to work producing a quality product in the matter of hours versus weeks.

The performance went very well and was received with enthusiasm from a receptive audience. The concert included the following musical selections: “Fanfare for Freedom” by Michael Story, “Aztec Celebration” by David Shaffer, “Spinning Wheel” arranged by Michael Sweeney, “Circle the Wagons” by Jack Wilds, and “Grenade” arranged by Michael Story. This event is a testament to the level of concentration, focus, and enthusiasm seventh and eighth grade students can bring to an activity that is important to them and their families.

Greenville Junior High Students who participated: Katie Baughman, Cassey Bolyard, Andrew Bonfiglio, Madelyn Breig, Aaron Buchy, Levi Cain, Anna Chavez, Caleb Coppess, Ashton Crowell, Nikkole Denlinger, Macy Denlinger, Lauren Dull, Macee Dunfee, Max Erwin, Nate Feurer, Dennis Forte, Josh Galloway, Sophie Gettinger, C.J. Grider, Destiny Grillot, Gloria Harrison, Makayla Hess, Taylor Hines, Katie Jay, Shelby Johns, Matthew Karns, Madison Klosterman, Ian Laux, Casey Malott, Anna Manges, Grant Minnich, Shawna Osborne, Kelsie Ruble, Kiana Satterwhite, Taylor Schmidt, Wesley Shaffer, Dawson Shirley, Lily Stiefel, Danny Suter, Jordyn Warren. Greenville JH Bands are under the direction of Mr. Brian McKibben.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */