Wednesday, April 8, 2015

National Federation of Republican Women Briefed by Dozens of Republican Leaders

Local Resident Among More than 150 ‘Red Coats’ at U.S. Capitol

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Dozens of Republican elected officials, including several freshman congresswomen, briefed more than 150 Republican women leaders from across the country during the National Federation of Republican Women’s (NFRW) biennial Legislative Day at the U.S. Capitol on March 19.

Lyn Bliss (Greenville), President of the Ohio Federation of Republican Women, was among those attending.

Dressed in the traditional garb of red jackets, the “red coats” heard from more than 30 Republican representatives and senators, including new Congresswomen Barbara Comstock (VA), Martha McSally (AZ), Elise Stefanik (NY) and Mimi Walters (CA), as well as House Republican Conference Chair Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA), House Majority Whip Steve Scalise (LA) and Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (FL), the first Latina elected to Congress.

Senate Majority Whip John Cornyn (TX) updated the group on his bill, the Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act, which initially had bipartisan support but is now being filibustered by Senate Democrats. Several other senators also addressed the group, including Joni Ernst (IA), Roy Blunt (MO), Ted Cruz (TX), Jeff Flake (AZ), Lindsey Graham (SC), Chuck Grassley (IA), John McCain (AZ), Ben Sasse (NE) and Thom Tillis (NC).

The entire Republican delegation from Arizona was on hand to welcome the NFRW to Phoenix this fall for the 38th Biennial Convention and Republican National Committee Chair Reince Priebus and Co-Chair Sharon Day stressed the importance of the 2016 presidential election.

While at the three day Legislative and NFRW Board Meeting, Bliss, along with eight other Ohio representatives, also attended numerous workshops and participated in electing the NFRW’s nominating committee for 2015. Others attending from Ohio were OFRW First Vice-president Jeanne Bolton (Licking Co.), OFRW and NFRW Women’s Health Issues Chair April Cohagen-Gibson (Muskingum County), OFRW Program Chair Eva Wray (Licking County), OFRW Membership Chair Robin Dodge (Greater Dayton), OFRW Tribute to Women Chair Marilyn Clark (North Columbus), OFRW Cardinal Chair Carol Salome (Licking Co.), OFRW Homeland Security Co-chair Janet Kushlan (Lake County) and Kristin Peters (Lake County).

Founded in 1938, the NFRW has thousands of active members in local clubs across the nation, making it one of the largest women’s political organizations in the country. The grassroots organization recruits and elects Republican candidates, advocates the GOP’s philosophy and initiatives, and empowers women in the political process. The Ohio Federation of Republican Women was founded in 1929, joined the NFRW when it was founded and strives to help achieve the same goals as the NFRW. The OFRW has Federated clubs from around Ohio and thousands of members in Ohio.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */