Monday, October 12, 2015

Ohio Federation of Republican Women Elects New Officers

Lyn Bliss Joins 2016-2017 Leadership Team

COLUMBUS, OHIO – The Ohio Federation of Republican Women (OFRW) held its 2015 Fall Conference and Annual Meeting, during which Officers to serve the organization for the 2016-2017 Term were elected.

“It is indeed an honor and a privilege to be re-elected to serve a second term as the OFRW state president. The officers with whom I will be serving are an outstanding collection of very talented and knowledgeable ladies. We have great goals set for the upcoming two years, which will rely heavily on the foundations laid during the past two years.” said Lyn Bliss.

Bliss – a Greenville resident – is an Ohio transplant, Iowa native and lifelong Republican. She has chaired numerous Republican candidates' campaigns. She has also served as a member of the campaign committees for a number of Republican candidates at all governmental levels. Bliss is an avid computer enthusiast and serves as webmaster for the Darke County Republican Party and the Ohio Federation of Republican Women. She is currently a Board Member and Secretary of the Darke County Metropolitan Housing Authority. She has held membership in Eagle’s Auxiliary, Beta Sigma Phi Sorority, Christian Women’s Group, Darke County Historical Society (Garst Museum), Committee to Restore the Greenville Mausoleum, Friends of the Greenville Library, Sigma Sigma Sigma Sorority Alumni, University of Iowa Alumni, University of Maryland Alumni, Wright Patterson Club and the Dayton Art Institute. Bliss has served on the Darke County Republican Central and Executive Committees, Edison Community College Board of Trustees, Board of Directors for the Cancer Association of Darke County, Board Member and Secretary for the Senior Scribes’ Scholarship Fund, Co-chair of the League of Women Voters of Darke County, and President of VFW Auxiliary 7262. Bliss is a retired teacher who earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Maryland and a Master of Arts degree from the University of Iowa. She is a graduate of the Jo Ann Davidson Ohio Leadership Institute. She is married to Al Bliss, a retired Officer of the U.S. Navy’s Nuclear Submarine Service.

As President, Bliss will act as the Statutory Agent of the OFRW (a 501C4 corporation); call and preside at all meetings; hire all employees; administer the OFRW office; appoint all committee chairs, co-chairs, and parliamentarian; serve as an ex-officio member of all committees (with the exception of the nominating committee); and arrange for all financial auditing.

“During the past two years, the OFRW has grown to become an open and inclusionary organization – growing its Board, its federated clubs, its services, its activities and its membership. Our leadership team is very excited about the upcoming Presidential election and how our members will help elect a Republican Candidate to the White House.” explained Bliss.

She will serve with these other members of the OFRW leadership team: First Vice-president Jeanne Bolton (Granville), Treasurer Mary Beth Kemmer (Troy), Secretary April Cohagen-Gibson (Zanesville), Central District Vice-president Mary Lou Saliaris (Delaware), East District Vice-president LeeAnn Johnson (Marietta), Northeast District Vice-president Lynda Bowers (Medina), Northwest District Vice-president Barbara Taylor (Lima), South District Vice-president Sandy Darby (Circleville), and Southwest District Vice-president Robin Dodge (Dayton).

Founded in 1929, the OFRW has thousands of active members in local clubs across the state. The OFRW is affiliated with the National Federation of Republican Women, one of the largest women’s political organizations in the country. The grassroots organization recruits and elects Republican candidates, advocates the GOP’s philosophy and initiatives, and empowers women in the political process. For more information regarding the OFRW, please visit President Bliss may be contacted at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */