Tuesday, February 23, 2016


Monday, February 29, the League of Women Voters of Darke County’s Candidates’ Night will feature the contested Republican Primary race for Darke County Commissioner at the American Legion beginning at 7:00 PM. Shown here are the Republican Primary Darke County Commissioner Candidates Joe LeMaster, Freddie E. Dean and Matthew Aultman with Holly Finnarn and Kathy Schmidt from the League of Women Voters.

The League of Women Voters of Darke County is again sponsoring a Candidates Forum on Monday, February 29 from 7:00 – 8:30 PM. Located at the American Legion Hall, Ohio St., in Greenville , the non-partisan forum will focus on the contested Republican primary race for Darke County Commissioner for the seat presently held by Diane Delaplane.

Candidates for U.S. Congress, 8th District (the seat formerly held by John Boehner) will be giving brief introductions at the start of the program, as well as local non-contested candidates. Also, contested Republican Primary candidates, John Adams and Matt Huffman, for the seat presently held by Keith Faber, the State Senate, 12th District seat, have been invited to attend.

• Candidates’ Night Featured Race: Republican Primary Candidates for Darke County Commissioner, term commencing 1/2/17 (vote for one)– Matthew Aultman, Freddie E. Dean & Joe LeMaster. The successful Primary Election Republican candidate will face the Democratic Primary candidate, Leon Rogers, in the November General Election.

The contested Commissioner candidates will give two minute introductory speeches. Following that, they will answer questions. Te public is encouraged to attend and submit written questions. Questions are then screened by a panel of League members, equally represented by the Democratic and Republican parties.

The League of Women Voters is a non-partisan organization with the major purpose being to inform voters about the candidates and issues. Funding for voter service activities comes from the League House Tour. Further information about the Candidates Night may be obtained by calling Holly Finnarn 937.417.4483 or Eileen Litchfield, 937.623.1234, Voter Service Co-Chairs.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */