Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Mississinawa Valley Attends 88th State FFA Convention

Pictured above are students that recently attended the 88th Ohio State FFA Convention from Mississinawa Valley FFA.
The Mississinawa Valley-MVCTC FFA Chapter attended Ohio’s State FFA Convention on May 5th and 6th 2016. The Convention was held in Columbus, Ohio at the State Fairgrounds. The chapter decided to provide strength in numbers as they paired up with the Franklin Monroe FFA chapter for the event. Mississinawa Valley- MVCTC members that attended were Leslie Dirksen, Megan Wilson, Kasey Hummel, Hope Jankowski, Shelby Manning, Shaiann Livingston, Darin Miller, Thomas Schmitz, Madison Stachler, Kelsie Hunt, Grant Stachler, Will Hall, Justin Miller, Olivia Murphy, Sidnie Hunt, Mason Hiestand, Cody Dirksen, Blake Scholl, Emily Schmitz and Mason Hummel. Advisors Gwen Bergman, Carmen Hartzell, and Franklin Monroe advisor, Kevin Bergman, attended as well. Mississinawa Valley- MVCTC FFA member, Megan Wilson, was a member of the state chorus during this trip for the third year in a row.

On Thursday, the members arrived in Columbus, enjoyed a decadent meal at the Spaghetti Warehouse, and explored the Expo Center before attending the first session of the convention. During this session, the Mississinawa Valley- MVCTC FFA chapter was recognized for the generous donation made to Children’s Hospital from our annual Dance Marathon charity event, and it was accepted by Shaiann Livingston on behalf of the chapter. After a full day of action packed experiences, including the talent show and keynote speaker, Tiana Tozer, the students enjoyed a trip to the Polaris Mall and Jeni’s Ice Cream Shop. The members were encouraged to branch out of their comfort zones and try new things on their own.

On Friday, students attended the third session, where officers who received gold ratings on their books were announced. Those students were 2015-2016 Secretary, Hope Jankowski and 2015-2016 Treasurer, Madison Stachler. After eating lunch and meeting up with parents of State Degree Recipients, students went to the fifth and final session of the convention. The State Degree Recipients for this year were Leslie Dirksen, Megan Wilson, Hope Jankowski, Zach Dirmeyer, Darin Miller, Shelby Manning, Thomas Schmitz, and Madison Stachler. During this session, the chapter was recognized for its accomplishments in the Agronomy Career Development Event as well. The agronomy team received a banner for 5th place in the high school division and 1st place in the junior high division. 8th grader, Mason Hummel received an award as well for placing 1st individually in the junior high division. As always, the students had a blast and are already looking forward to next year’s convention. Mississinawa Valley- MVCTC Agriculture Program is a satellite of Miami Valley Career Technology Center.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured Posts

/* Track outbound links in Google Analytics */